//
you're reading...
TV/Film

Tyrese Gibson Confirms Meetings with Warner Bros.

Fast And Furious 6

If you follow Tyrese Gibson on any social media for the past few months, you would know that he has been vocalizing his interest in playing the Green Lantern, John Stewart in the DC Cinematic Universe. It was announced at San Diego Comic-Con that instead of a Green Lantern stand alone movie, it will be a Green Lantern Corps instead so it will be more of an ensemble film instead of a stand alone. Rumors started to circulate that Chris Pine and Tyrese Gibson were cast as Hal Jordon and John Stewart.

While being interviewed by Collider’s Steve Weintraub for ‘Furious 7’ Blu-Ray release, Tyrese addressed Green Lantern rumors and how it all started.

“Well I was innocent from the beginning. I was at home eating a bowl of Lucky Charms in my drawers, my ugly feet were out, and I got about six direct messages on Instagram with photos of me as the Green Lantern. This particular fan who did this fan art said that there was a community of people that had been talking for like a month and a half about who they think would be the best Green Lantern and they all picked me. I said to them, ‘I took the oath, and I am going to commit myself to this process of seeing what’s possible.’”

Gibson also reveled that he has had meetings with Warner Bros.

“I’ve already had a couple of meetings at Warner Bros., so we’ll see what happens. I do believe that there needs to be more black superheroes out there, but that’s not even my motivation. I think I would be the best Green Lantern and based on my fans and supporters that spent around $6 billion in box office receipts, I feel like there’s a fanbase of fans out there waiting to see me put on this green suit and do my thing. So I would love to confirm something today but I can’t. We’ll just keep following up.”

Warner Bros./DC haven’t confirmed if any of the Green Lanterns will appear in November 2017’s Justice League part 1, but many speculate that either Jordan or Stewart will make an appearance before their own Green Lantern Corps movie set for June 2020.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

